Review: Valentino Rockstuds

 

Review Valentino Rockstuds

 

If you’ve been around for a while you’ll know my style is a mixture of high street with luxury.  I work hard so I’ll happily treat myself to something expensive if I absolutely love it and know it’ll get plenty of wear.  Although before I splurge I (nearly) always make sure I do my research.  There have been a couple of moments I’ve purchased something on a whim and occasionally it works out but mostly it doesn’t.  There is nothing worse than spending a significant amount of cash on something that either doesn’t offer value for money or ends up being poor quality.  That being said, I thought I’d start honestly reviewing some of my designer pieces just in case there’s anyone out there thinking of investing in the same or something similar.

 

Review Valentino RockstudsReview Valentino Rockstuds

 

I steered away from the Valentino Rockstuds for a long time.  Firstly, I thought they’d be a short-lived trend and secondly, they are so expensive I just didn’t think I could justify it.  Having said that the Rockstud lives on season after season and prices continue to creep up so evidently this shoe is here to stay.

 

 

The classic pointed Rockstuds come in 3 heights; flat, 65mm and 105mm.  I have the flat pair in patent fuchsia with light gold hardware.

 

Review Valentino RockstudsReview Valentino RockstudsReview Valentino Rockstuds

Outfit Details: Top – Rebecca Taylor (similar HERE and HERE) | Shorts – Urban Outfitters (similar HERE) | Shoes – Valentino (similar here & here) | Bangles – JCrew (similar HERE) | Twilly (worn in hair) – Hermes (similar HERe & here)

 

Wearability

These are incredibly versatile which is why I’ve styled them in this post with two very different outfits.  The first is a super casual daytime look and the other is more of an evening look and these shoes work perfectly with both.  They can literally be worn with pretty much anything; shorts, dresses, turned up jeans or tailored trousers.  As they’re a statement shoe I much prefer them in a bold colour as it makes them really pop which is exactly what this shoe should do!  In terms of the potential wear you can get from these, they definitely offer good value for money.

 

 

Review Valentino Rockstuds

 

Comfort 

Happily, these shoes only needed minimal breaking in.  If I wear them all day and there’s a lot of walking involved then I do get some rubbing.  I don’t think will stop happening, no matter how much I wear them but thankfully it’s managable.  I’ve heard the heeled versions are incredibly comfortable and very easy to walk in due to the ankle strap support.

 

 

Sizing

I usually wear a 36 -36.5 and with these I took a 36.5.  My advice would be to size up half a size as it will prevent rubbing.  I have a quite a wide foot and these fit really well especially around the toebox, so I do wonder if a slimmer foot could potentially be swimming in these.  If your foot is very slender I would recommend taking your usual size.  Although, it is worth bearing in mind that the leather is quite stiff and doesn’t seem to give.  Mine haven’t stretched at all which is impressive considering the extensive wear they’ve had.

 

Review Valentino RockstudsReview Valentino RockstudsReview Valentino Rockstuds

Outfit details: Dress – House of Holland (similar HERE) | Shoes – Valentino (similar here & here) | Twilly (worn in hair) – Hermes (similar HERe & here)

 

Quality

I would definitely recommend the patent version as they’re very hardy.  Mine look almost as good as new and I’ve worn them a huge amount.  Even the nude leather straps look exactly like it did when I first bought them, they haven’t darkened or stained at all.  The only thing I found disappointing was on my first wear I noticed the sole at the tip of the toe had chipped away.  In the end, this hasn’t caused any issues but I was just shocked this would happen on the very first wear.

 

Review Valentino RockstudsReview Valentino Rockstuds

 

Price

I bought these from the Harrods Winter Sale earlier this year.  As much as I love these shoes and even though I have sung their praises, I still wouldn’t spend the £600+ on them they currently retail for.  As gorgeous as they are, in my opinion no pair of shoes is worth that kind of money.  If you have the Rosckstuds on your wish list I would definitely wait for the sales.  Even 30% off makes a big difference.  You’d probably be lucky if you managed to bag a bigger discount than that as these shoes are still in high demand and once they go on sale they sell out pretty quickly.

If there’s anything in particular you’d like to read an indepth review of, be it shoes, bags, clothes or accessories, that you’ve seen appear on the blog just let me know.  I’m always happy to share my thoughts and tips on anything that might be of interest to you lovelies!

 

Photographs taken by Jessy Papasavva

1
SHARE:

98 Comments

  1. Camila August 8, 2016 / 2:47 am

    Everyone loves the heels version of this shoe but the flats are my fave. It is a big investment and I think I would use more the flats rather than the heels. Also, I feel in love with your second outfit, that dress is adorable and the shoes look so elegant without a need of being heels!

    My Vogue Style | http://www.myvoguestyle.com

    • thatnewd August 12, 2016 / 2:32 pm

      Thank you so much hunny! I’m with you, I’m a flats girl so getting these over the heels was a no brainer! xx

    • thatnewd August 12, 2016 / 2:33 pm

      I totally understand where you’re coming from but I think they’ve definitely stood the test of time and will continue to do so. I think the rockstud is now a classic xx

    • thatnewd August 12, 2016 / 2:41 pm

      Awww thank you hunny xx

    • thatnewd August 12, 2016 / 2:43 pm

      Thank you so much sweetie! That’s so lovely xxx

  2. christin August 8, 2016 / 8:07 am

    You look so stunning and cosy in those looks and the place looks beautiful!

    would you like to follow each other on google friend connect and google plus? If you follow me,
    I will follow you back after it. ^^
    http://www.tomntins.com

    • thatnewd August 12, 2016 / 2:44 pm

      Thank you doll! I don’t use google friend or google plus I’m afraid xx

    • thatnewd August 12, 2016 / 2:45 pm

      Thank you so much doll! I do love a brightly coloured shoe! xx

    • thatnewd August 12, 2016 / 2:45 pm

      They really are a fab shoe! Thank you for the sweet comment hun xx

    • thatnewd August 15, 2016 / 1:25 pm

      Awww thanks hunny, I really appreciate the lovely comment! xx

    • thatnewd August 12, 2016 / 2:54 pm

      Thank you lovely! They’re such a great shoe, I’m so glad you love your rockstuds too xx

  3. The Fashion Folks August 8, 2016 / 3:40 pm

    Loved reading a review on these! They’re kind of everywhere but no one really says anything about them. But good to know that they are THAT lovely and they are perfect statement shoes! Love how cute they are to your outfit too! Xx

    http://www.thefashionfolks.com

    • thatnewd August 12, 2016 / 2:55 pm

      I’m SO happy you enjoyed reading the review. I don’t think everyone is honest about these so I wanted to tell the truth! Thank you for the lovely comment hun xx

    • thatnewd September 5, 2016 / 9:05 pm

      Aww thank you hun, that’s so lovely xx

    • thatnewd August 12, 2016 / 3:29 pm

      Pleasure! Glad you enjoyed! xx

    • thatnewd August 12, 2016 / 3:30 pm

      Thank you lovely xx

    • thatnewd August 12, 2016 / 3:30 pm

      Thank you so much! I can’t resist a bit of pink! xx

  4. Joti August 8, 2016 / 7:26 pm

    I am dying for the high heeled rock studs. I need to justify the cost though. You look so great in them. The flats are to die for as well! Valentino really did a great job with these.

    http://www.stylebymemory.com

    • thatnewd August 12, 2016 / 3:31 pm

      Haven’t they just?! I’ve heard the heels are super comfy, I think you should treat yourself! xx

    • thatnewd August 12, 2016 / 3:32 pm

      Thank you so much hunny! Valentino has done such a fab job with these shoes and amazing quality xx

  5. Christina August 8, 2016 / 7:58 pm

    I love how you styled these shoes in such fun ways! The first look is especially adorable. 🙂 Love all the color combinations!

    Best,
    Christina

    Looks by Lau

    • thatnewd August 12, 2016 / 3:33 pm

      Thanks doll! That’s so lovely of you xx

  6. Jalisa August 8, 2016 / 8:11 pm

    This is such a great post, girlie, I enjoyed reading your thoughts on this shoe, it’s been one I’ve been eyeing for some time now! They seem to be of great quality and add a nice stable touch of edginess to any outfit. I’m looking to eventually get both the black and beige, perhaps one heel and one flat, we’ll see. I love the idea of these designer reviews, so definitely keep them coming! I invest on average once or twice a year on a designer item, so it’s good to have an honest source to refer to beforehand! Thanks so much for sharing and I hope you have a great week ahead, beauty!

    XO,

    Jalisa
    http://www.thestylecontour.com

    • thatnewd August 12, 2016 / 3:34 pm

      Awww thanks doll! I definitely think you should get yourself a pair, I promise you you’ll wear them to death! xx

  7. Funmi Alabi August 8, 2016 / 11:13 pm

    You look gorgeous hun. The shoes certainly are worth the treat.
    Love your lip colour also. What do you have on?

    Funmi x
    funmialabi.co.uk

    • thatnewd August 12, 2016 / 3:35 pm

      Thanks lovely! I’m wearing Kylie’s Lip Kit in Posie xx

  8. Kasie Chelanne August 9, 2016 / 5:30 am

    Oh my goodness, these are gorgeous! I love Rockstuds but haven’t quite talked myself into purchasing them yet because I’ve wondered about the comfort factor. It’s great to know they feel as good as they look!

    • thatnewd August 12, 2016 / 3:35 pm

      Surprisingly comfy! Definitely amazing quality if you can justify the price! xx

  9. Kamara August 9, 2016 / 9:35 am

    Love your rockstuds, they’re so beautiful! They look amazing on you.

    Euriental

    • thatnewd August 12, 2016 / 3:36 pm

      Awww thanks so much sweetie xx

  10. Zubaida August 9, 2016 / 1:48 pm

    I loved your shoes, they are looking perfect with all dresses.
    GlamupGirls

    • thatnewd August 12, 2016 / 3:36 pm

      Thank you so much lovely xx

  11. Missy May August 9, 2016 / 5:58 pm

    I have seen this shoes on many bloggers and of cos it got me curious to check the price. Omg, wow I was definitely dumbfounded how expensive they are. Yeah I so agree with you, – no shoe is worth that hustle. Ha!
    I love that LBD on you. Its a classy dress. 🙂

    http://missymayification.blogspot.co.uk

    • thatnewd August 12, 2016 / 3:40 pm

      Haha, yea they have a serious pricetag! Thank you so much for the comment lovely xx

  12. Ashley August 9, 2016 / 7:28 pm

    The Rockstuds have really hung around- I love it! Your pink ones are too fun, lady!

    -Ashley
    Le Stylo Rouge

    • thatnewd August 12, 2016 / 3:40 pm

      Haven’t they? I feel like they’re classics now! xx

    • thatnewd August 12, 2016 / 3:41 pm

      Thank you hunny xx

    • thatnewd August 12, 2016 / 3:41 pm

      Awww thank you so much xx

  13. Amy August 9, 2016 / 9:38 pm

    Such a great shoe! I have a black knock off I love and have wondered how the real things are. The pink is so fun!

    Amy Ann
    Straight A Style

    • thatnewd August 12, 2016 / 3:42 pm

      Thanks lovely! I love having them in a bright colour because they really pop! xx

  14. sophie August 9, 2016 / 9:47 pm

    Well they were so worth it.I also thought they’d be a short lived trend but over and over I’ve been proven wrong.Looking so great.
    http://sophieatieno.com

    • thatnewd August 12, 2016 / 3:43 pm

      You and me both! They’ve really stood the test of time! xx

    • thatnewd August 15, 2016 / 1:33 pm

      Thank you so much lovely xx

    • thatnewd August 12, 2016 / 4:03 pm

      I wish I was a heels girl but I end up hobbling around! Not a good look! I definitely recommend these shoes if you feel like splashing out! xx

  15. consulenza milano August 10, 2016 / 7:38 am

    Love the black dress!
    It perfectly matches your shapes and your style.
    I have just a similar dress and I’m used to wear it in the evening cocktail summer happening.
    You’re great!
    Cheers

    • thatnewd August 12, 2016 / 4:04 pm

      Thank you hunny, I pull this dress out whenever I cocktail event too! xx

    • thatnewd August 12, 2016 / 4:05 pm

      Thank you so much lovely xx

  16. Heather Noire August 10, 2016 / 4:54 pm

    Those shoes are gorgeous! I just love the colour combined with the studs! Gives it girly style with a bit of edge. I really love how you styled these shoes they are amazing 😉 http://www.bauchlefashion.com

    • thatnewd August 12, 2016 / 4:08 pm

      That’s exactly what I love about these shoes, they have an edge and are a perfect mix of looks! xx

  17. Elena August 10, 2016 / 6:14 pm

    They look perfect on you, whatever outfit you wear. I’m very happy that you don’t regret such an expensive buying but think the rockstuds are worth of theri fame 🙂

    xoxo
    http://www.bellezzefelici.blogspot.com

    • thatnewd August 12, 2016 / 4:09 pm

      I agree! Thank you for the lovely comment hun xx

    • thatnewd August 12, 2016 / 4:09 pm

      Do it!!! Treat yourself, they’re amazing! Although you might want to wait for the sales xx

  18. Paulina Ríos August 10, 2016 / 8:34 pm

    I loved the post! I find it a very good idea to mix qualities and brands in the outfit. I must say I am classic colors for my shoes but I liked these pink shoes!

    • thatnewd August 12, 2016 / 4:10 pm

      Thank you so much lovely xx

    • thatnewd August 12, 2016 / 4:10 pm

      Awwww thanks doll, that’s so lovely of you xx

    • thatnewd August 12, 2016 / 4:10 pm

      Thank you so much doll! xx

  19. Gelleesh August 11, 2016 / 4:54 am

    Those shoes are gorgeous but expensive! They look really good with dresses and can even make a casual outfit look fab! 😀

    xoxo,
    Gelleesh.com

    • thatnewd August 12, 2016 / 4:12 pm

      So expensive but I think worth it in the end! Thanks for the lovely comment hun xx

  20. cvetybaby August 11, 2016 / 10:48 am

    I’m in love with this lbd! Looks fab on you! Both are good, but that dress is absolutely amazing! Those shoes are adorable!
    xx
    cvetybaby.com

    • thatnewd August 12, 2016 / 4:13 pm

      Thanks doll! This is my favourite cocktail dress!! xx

    • thatnewd August 12, 2016 / 4:14 pm

      Thank you sweetie! xx

  21. Leftbankgirl August 11, 2016 / 11:45 am

    A stunning shoe! They’ve definitely stayed popular! I just haven’t bitten on these yet, yikes, the price! You look incredible in both looks. Adore the print top! Again, the shoes are gorgeous!

    http://Leftbankgirl.blogspot.com

    • thatnewd August 12, 2016 / 4:15 pm

      The price is so scary! Got to get them in the sale! Thank you for the lovely comment xx

  22. Alina Bostan August 11, 2016 / 5:46 pm

    What beautiful pair of shoes, the rock studs design is just gorgeous! You wear and style them so well. I can’t justify the real ones so definitely need to check out dupes x

    Beauty with charm

    • thatnewd August 12, 2016 / 4:15 pm

      Thank you! There are lots of good dupes on the market, so definitely worth hunting them down!

  23. Lorena August 11, 2016 / 6:41 pm

    Looks fab with the black dress.
    I tried a pair, they’re not for me !

    • thatnewd August 12, 2016 / 4:16 pm

      Thank you! Oh really? What didn’t you like about them? xx

    • thatnewd August 12, 2016 / 4:16 pm

      Hahaha thanks sweets! xx

    • thatnewd August 12, 2016 / 4:17 pm

      Thank you darling xx

  24. Janea August 13, 2016 / 12:56 am

    I have loved those shoes for a very, very long time. You’ve brought me even closer to purchasing them, although I would love a sale too, and so, your detailed review and suggestions are enormously helpful. Great style!!
    XO, Janea

    http://theSTYLetti.com

    • thatnewd August 19, 2016 / 5:17 pm

      So happy this was helpful! Hope you manage to bag a pair in the sales xx

    • thatnewd August 23, 2016 / 6:49 pm

      Definitely worth waiting and saving yourself some money! xx

    • thatnewd August 20, 2016 / 8:07 pm

      Thank you!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *