Review: 3.1 Phillip Lim Pashli Satchel

 

 

The Phillip Lim Pashli Satchel is a bag I never expected to buy but now that I own one, I’m enamoured by it!  So much so, I thought I’d do a review and share all the reasons why everyone should get one.

The Pashli comes in three sizes, mini, medium and large, plus a (very cool) backpack version.  I have the medium size in the two-toned grainy leather in periwinkle and ivory with silver hardware.

 

 

Wearability

One of the things which makes this bag stand out is it’s incredibly versatile and can be worn so many different ways.  It has a removable and adjustable leather shoulder strap, so you can either wear it crossbody or sling it over one shoulder.  I really like that you can adjust the length of the strap.  Just changing it up by wearing it a touch longer or shorter can give the bag a new lease of life and a very different vibe.  Alternatively, you can remove it entirely to give the bag a sophisticated and more formal look.

 

 

I also find myself hooking it over my arm a lot or simply holding it with the top handles.  It sits really well in the crook of your arm and is very comfy to carry.

The other thing which is really refreshing is the size of this bag.  After carrying WOCs and tiny bags for the last couple of years, it feels great to be able to throw everything I need into it without having to edit down my purse or makeup bag.  Thankfully, it’s not so big that you’re fishing around for your things at the bottom.  I would really recommend the Pashli medium as the perfect sized bag.

 

 

Quality

The great thing about the grained leather is how resilient it is.  You can really throw this bag around and it doesn’t scratch or mark.  It does ever so slightly loose it’s shape with wear but this is one of those bags which looks better worn.  I personally prefer it when it more casual and boho looking and this comes with a bit of wear and tear.

The only place where I’ve noticed a bit of damage is on the clasp where the lobster claws have scratched the base of the lock.  This would only be completely avoidable with some serious care.

 

 

Price

Aside from the versatility the other thing I love about the Pashli is the price point.  Compared to other luxury brands who’s bags are priced around £1500-£3000 plus, the Pashli is really reasonably priced.  It’s so refreshing to see a bag retailing under the £1000 mark.

The mini in a plain grained leather retails around £545, the medium £700 and large £985.  There are also special editions which can come in slightly higher or lower than the prices listed.  I think the priciest one I’ve ever seen is a studded suede version which retails around £680 for the mini and £800 for the medium.

 

 

If you’re keen to treat yourself to a new luxury bag or are thinking about buying your first one, I would highly recommend the Pashli.  It’s the perfect entry level bag into the luxury handbag world.  You’re getting a cult bag which compliments every occasion (work, pleasure or even holiday vibes) at a price which isn’t going to make you cry when you get your credit card bill at the end of the month!

 

Outfit details: Shirt – Mango (find HERE) | Jeans – Mother Denim (similar HERE & HERE) | Bag – 3.1 Phillip Lam (similar HERE & HERE) | Shoes – Chanel (find HERE) | Belt – Hermes (find HERE)

 

Don’t forget you can also keep up with me on Instagram @thatnewdress, Twitter @thatnewdress, Bloglovin That New Dress, Snapchat thatnewdress and Depop @dominiquew.

 

 

0
SHARE:

66 Comments

    • thatnewd May 21, 2017 / 8:58 pm

      Thank you, hope you had a great weekend too xx

    • thatnewd May 21, 2017 / 8:59 pm

      Thank you so much Rina xx

  1. Gemma May 17, 2017 / 8:37 am

    I really like the Pashli and have had it on my radar for years. Reading this I’m starting to consider it even more!

    Gemma x
    http://www.jacquardflower.uk

    • thatnewd May 21, 2017 / 8:59 pm

      Do it! I’m in love with mine! xx

  2. Rosalie May 17, 2017 / 11:02 am

    I love this bag!! I definitely need to get a large one, I always find myself packing so many things while I’m out.

    • thatnewd May 21, 2017 / 8:59 pm

      Haha I know that feeling! Although I think the large is realllyyy big! xx

  3. Jasmine May 17, 2017 / 1:10 pm

    Nice bag! Lovely outfit!

    • thatnewd May 21, 2017 / 9:00 pm

      Thank you! xx

    • thatnewd May 21, 2017 / 9:00 pm

      It was on my wish list too for quite a while and I’m so happy I got it! xx

    • thatnewd May 21, 2017 / 9:00 pm

      Thank you doll xx

    • thatnewd May 21, 2017 / 9:01 pm

      Me too! I’ve become a bit obsessed wit Mango recently! xx

  4. Ciara May 17, 2017 / 7:23 pm

    I am so in love with this whole outfit! Your top is adorable! I’ve actually never seen that bag before but I love the style and colour. It looks like it is super versatile too. Great choice girl 🙂

    Ciara
    http://www.ciarasalloum.com

    • thatnewd May 21, 2017 / 9:01 pm

      Aww thank you so much lovely xx

    • thatnewd May 23, 2017 / 6:51 pm

      Thanks doll xx

    • thatnewd May 21, 2017 / 9:02 pm

      Thank you very much Adela! xx

  5. Carmen May 17, 2017 / 9:02 pm

    Oh I totally love the color of that bag and I am sure it matches with various looks – especially with this one! That shirt is so cute and those palms trees are super pretty 🙂
    xx, Carmen – http://www.carmitive.com

    • thatnewd May 21, 2017 / 9:05 pm

      You’re so right, it’s such a versatile colour and perfect for Spring Summer! xx

  6. Shivangi May 17, 2017 / 9:35 pm

    Such a pretty bag! Love the color and grained leather pattern!! Would love to own one from their collection someday! Thanks for sharing Dominique! <3
    Love
    Shivangi

    • thatnewd May 21, 2017 / 9:13 pm

      My pleasure, so glad you enjoyed the post hunny xx

  7. Jessica May 18, 2017 / 12:34 am

    Phillip Lim ha the best bags. Period. Your satchel is pretty and the color is spring and summer ready too!

    Jessica | notjessfashion.com

    • thatnewd May 21, 2017 / 9:15 pm

      They so are! I’m so happy to have one, I’m in love! Haha xx

  8. Avalon May 18, 2017 / 3:18 am

    I love the coloring of your jeans!! They are so cute! And the blouse is super cute too.

    – Avalon from simplyavalon.blogspot.com

    • thatnewd May 21, 2017 / 9:16 pm

      Thanks hun! These jeans are my fave, they are the comfiest jeans I’ve ever known xx

    • thatnewd May 21, 2017 / 9:28 pm

      Awww thanks darling! xx

    • thatnewd May 21, 2017 / 9:28 pm

      Thank you so much lovely xx

  9. miri May 18, 2017 / 10:13 am

    I really love this handbag. I have the same on in black and it is super practical and elegant. Great pick, sweetie.
    X
    Miri

    http://currentlywearing.com

    • thatnewd May 21, 2017 / 9:28 pm

      Oooh I bet it’s gorgeous in black! xx

  10. GorisHelena May 18, 2017 / 11:26 am

    Such a beautiful post, super gorgeous I love it!

    Can we follow eachother? Let me know on my blog and I will follow back immediately xo
    BLOG: GorisHelena

    • thatnewd May 21, 2017 / 9:29 pm

      Thank you doll xx

    • thatnewd May 21, 2017 / 9:29 pm

      Do ittt! You won’t regret it! xx

    • thatnewd May 21, 2017 / 9:30 pm

      Aww thank you doll xx

  11. Mercy May 18, 2017 / 1:59 pm

    Thanks for the cool and detailed review, it’s nice to know that it’s durable and doesn’t scratch easily. I’ve been eyeing on it too because it’s affordable and is big enough to carry it to work. It’s nice that you wore jeans and white tee with it, you match it perfectly well dear.

    http://www.busyandfab.com

    • thatnewd May 27, 2017 / 11:04 am

      Thank you doll! Get itttt, it’s just a great bag and super versatile xx

    • thatnewd May 21, 2017 / 9:50 pm

      So roomy! It’s great to be able to carry everything and fit it all! xx

    • thatnewd May 21, 2017 / 9:49 pm

      Thank you so much lovely xx

    • thatnewd May 21, 2017 / 9:48 pm

      Thanks Laura xx

    • thatnewd May 21, 2017 / 9:47 pm

      Thank you! xx

    • thatnewd May 21, 2017 / 9:46 pm

      Isn’t it just! I’m obsessed with this bag at the moment xx

    • thatnewd May 21, 2017 / 9:46 pm

      You’re a sweetie, thank you Heather xx

    • thatnewd May 21, 2017 / 9:44 pm

      I love the backpack version! That’s next on my wish list xx

  12. alya May 19, 2017 / 6:35 pm

    Ahh wow what a gorgeous, gorgeous bag!! I love love the colour and style!

    Alya / moorizzla xx

    • thatnewd May 21, 2017 / 9:43 pm

      Thank you Alya! xx

    • thatnewd May 27, 2017 / 11:04 am

      Thanks so much hun xx

    • thatnewd May 21, 2017 / 9:43 pm

      Haha thank you so much darling! These are my favourite and comfiest jeans xx

  13. Marta Carvalho May 20, 2017 / 4:37 pm

    Aww this outfit is so cute! The colors, the bag, the blouse… It’s perfection, I’m in love!
    LA VEINE

    • thatnewd May 21, 2017 / 9:42 pm

      You’re the sweetest, thank you hun xx

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *