REVIEW: LOEWE BARCELONA BAG

 

 

Over the last 18 months, I’ve massively fallen in love with Loewe.  J.W Anderson has done a great job giving the label a new lease of life without compromising its old-school integrity.

Originally it was his bags which caught my attention but recently I’ve been falling more in love with the Ready-to-Wear.  This Barcelona Bag is my first Loewe purchase so I’m treating it as a guinea pig to see if I will be investing any more of my money into the brand.

I have the Barcelona bag in taupe/mink with gold hardware in the size medium.

 

 

Wearability

When I was choosing this bag, I was massively torn between this and the Puzzle bag.  The Puzzle had been on my lust list for over a year (see it HERE if you don’t know the one I’m talking about).

If I’m honest, I hadn’t even previously considered the Barcelona bag but there was something about this one which made me switch from the Puzzle and buy this one.  I’m so glad I did.  There’s just something really classic and chic about it.  The colour is absolute perfection.

 

 

It’s a great size while still being quite neat and compact.  It’s deceptively deep so you can fit a tonne inside it.  The interior is divided into two spacious compartments with a pocket in between which you can slip receipts or business cards into.  There’s also a back pocket which is perfect for popping your phone into.

The unique closure is also really easy to open and close, which is great when you’re in a rush or your hands are full.

 

 

Whatever outfit I pair it with, it just seems to elevate it and give it that air of sophistication.  The really great thing about it is it can worn with absolutely everything from joggers and a biker jacket to leather trousers and a gorgeous blouse, either way, it blends perfectly with any look.

One thing I’ve noticed which I adore about this bag is the lack of hardware.  There’s some on the triangular fastening and just a tiny touch on the strap.  I’m really old school and usually stick to wearing silver OR gold and only very occasionally will I mix metals.  The great thing about this is even though the hardware is gold you can just about get away with wearing it with silver which doubles your chances to wear it.

 

 

Quality

I’m going to be 100% honest, although I adore this bag I do have a few grievances with it.  Firstly, I have it in the smooth leather and no matter how careful you are it scratches.  If you plan on using this bag day to day, expect it to get scratched and marked.  Usually, I don’t mind a bit of wear and tear but as this is such a chic and sophisticated bag I do think it looks best when it’s absolutely pristine.

I have since found this exact same colour in a grained leather (see it HERE) which would be far more hardwearing so I highly suggest looking at that one if you’re tempted.

 

 

Also, the adjustable shoulder strap can be a little temperamental.  I was walking done the street the other day and the strap came completely undone and fell to the ground.  This has happened a couple of times now and in my eyes, shouldn’t happen at all!

 

 

However, don’t let these problems deter you too much.  In reality, these issues really aren’t the end of the world and this still one of my favourite bags.  I just like to keep it real with you guys.  After all, we’re talking about spending a pretty penny, so it’s good to know what to expect before you take the plunge.

Price

The price of this bag is in line with most luxury designers such as Prada, Chloe, Saint Laurent, etc.  The medium size retails around £1500-£1700.

 

 

If you’re looking for something more compact which you can use for evenings out or lunch-ing and brunch-ing the small size is such a cute option.  Plus, it’s well priced, around £1000-£1100.

Loewe have launched some really beautiful colours this season.  If you’re looking for a versatile bag with a more sophisticated edge to it, I highly recommend this one as a great option.  Check out a few of my absolute favourites HERE, HERE, HERE and HERE.  This one HERE is preloved and a total bargain, plus it’s the prettiest colour EVER, someone please bag this bargain stat!!

 

Outfit details: Jacket – Balmain (similar HERE or a more purse friendly version HERE) | Jeans – Topshop (find HERE) | Scarf – Charlotte Simone (find HERE on SALE) | Boots – Balenciaga (similar HERE & HERE) | Bag – Loewe (find HERE & find in the grained leather HERE)

 

Don’t forget you can also keep up with me on Instagram @thatnewdress, Twitter @thatnewdress, Bloglovin That New Dress, Snapchat thatnewdress and Depop @dominiquew.

 

 

 

0
SHARE:

114 Comments

  1. Izabela January 28, 2018 / 6:02 pm

    I love this look. Your jacket is so pretty.

    Her Style Hive

    • thatnewd March 18, 2018 / 2:18 am

      Thank you so much Izabela

  2. Vika January 28, 2018 / 8:52 pm

    Thanks for the interesting post! Have a nice day)

    • thatnewd February 8, 2018 / 11:51 pm

      Thanks hunny xx

    • thatnewd February 8, 2018 / 11:50 pm

      Thank you so much lovely xx

  3. the adventurer January 28, 2018 / 10:22 pm

    Love how this bag looks and the size seems perfect. Thank you for sharing an honest review of how the bag is when you wear it out, i could see it becoming frustrating when the strap keeps being undone. But it definitely is chic =o)

    https://dreamofadventures.com/

    • thatnewd February 9, 2018 / 12:34 am

      The strap is so frustrating but I think I’ve found a way to fix it now, thank goodness! xx

  4. Kasie January 29, 2018 / 12:00 am

    This bag is EVERYTHING! It’s the perfect size, shape and color. It’s going to look just as chic in 20 years as it does today. What a find!

    • thatnewd February 9, 2018 / 12:35 am

      Awww I love this comment! I totally agree it will look good in years to come too xx

    • thatnewd February 9, 2018 / 12:35 am

      Thank you so much sweetie xx

  5. Lyndi January 29, 2018 / 12:43 am

    This purse is GORGEOUS! I love the closure, and the quality looks really good.
    I agree, J.W Anderson has been doing amazing things for the brand. Great choice!

    Lyndi
    http://www.stylecalling.com

    • thatnewd February 9, 2018 / 12:36 am

      He’s doing such a great job and is a major talent xx

    • thatnewd February 9, 2018 / 12:36 am

      Thank you sweetie xx

    • thatnewd February 9, 2018 / 12:36 am

      Thank you Lauren xx

  6. Mercy January 29, 2018 / 4:21 am

    Oh wow, thanks for the review babe, I’ve been eyeing on the Loewe Puzzle bag, I haven’t noticed this bag that you got yet until now. It’s nice because it’s structured. I think I like the smooth leather too than the grain. Love your tweed jacket! Enjoy your stay in NYC!

    http://www.busyandfab.com

    • thatnewd February 9, 2018 / 12:38 am

      I kinda want the Puzzle bag too but I’m definitely glad I got this one for now but watch this space! Haha xx

  7. zoe January 29, 2018 / 5:09 am

    It’s a beautiful bag, thanks for being honest with your review!

    • thatnewd February 9, 2018 / 12:38 am

      Glad you enjoyed it hunny xx

    • thatnewd February 9, 2018 / 12:38 am

      Thank you so much doll xx

    • thatnewd February 9, 2018 / 12:39 am

      I adore the unique closure on this bag xx

    • thatnewd February 10, 2018 / 4:58 pm

      Totally agree, I think this jacket has major Christmassey vibes! xx

    • thatnewd February 9, 2018 / 12:40 am

      You’re too sweet, thank you hun xx

    • thatnewd February 9, 2018 / 12:59 am

      Thank you so much Gemma xx

    • thatnewd February 9, 2018 / 1:00 am

      Thank you so much doll, I’m loving it at the moment xx

    • thatnewd February 9, 2018 / 1:00 am

      Thank you!! xx

  8. Didier January 29, 2018 / 4:13 pm

    OMG I have wanted a puzzle bag for the longest time but the Barcelona is so pretty too! I agree with you when it comes down to softer leathers. I avoid them because I get so paranoid about getting scratches. I love Loewe but I’ve yet to do a big purchase from the brand but you’re really making me consider going to Nordstrom right now ha.

    -Didier
    http://www.didieryhc.com

    • thatnewd February 9, 2018 / 1:03 am

      I love the look of the smooth leather but every time I use it I’m so conscious of scratching it! Having said that I love everything else about it xx

    • thatnewd February 20, 2018 / 12:41 am

      Thank you so much lovely xx

    • thatnewd February 9, 2018 / 1:10 am

      Hehe thank you xx

    • thatnewd February 9, 2018 / 1:10 am

      Thanks doll xx

    • thatnewd February 9, 2018 / 1:10 am

      Thank you so much xx

    • thatnewd February 9, 2018 / 1:37 am

      Thanks sweets xx

    • thatnewd February 9, 2018 / 1:38 am

      Isn’t it beautiful?! The colour matches everything xx

  9. Radi January 30, 2018 / 7:29 am

    This bag definitely takes your outfit to the next level. I love that it can dress up the simplest pieces like a tee and jeans.

    http://www.fashionradi.com

    • thatnewd February 9, 2018 / 1:38 am

      Awwww thank you so much lovely xx

  10. Florentina January 30, 2018 / 8:26 am

    I love everything about this look, starting with the jacket, jeans, scarf and finally the bag. It is really cute but I have to say that I couldn’t afford a similar price so I would look for a similar product with a more affordable. Thank you for this inspiration dear!
    Have a beautiful day!
    Flo

    • thatnewd February 9, 2018 / 1:39 am

      It’s definitely a big investment but I hope to get loads of wear out of it! Fingers crossed! xx

  11. Marisa Cavaleiro January 30, 2018 / 8:56 am

    Love your coat… nice outfit..
    Xoxo from Portugal

    marisascloset.blogspot.com

    • thatnewd February 10, 2018 / 4:58 pm

      Thank you Marisa xx

    • thatnewd February 9, 2018 / 1:40 am

      Thank you such LaToya xx

  12. Alyssa January 30, 2018 / 4:29 pm

    I love the triangle detail of that bag, so chic! <3

    xx Alyssa | STYLE VANITY

    • thatnewd February 9, 2018 / 1:40 am

      Isn’t it gorgeous and sooo unique!! xx

  13. Ashley January 30, 2018 / 6:02 pm

    Such a gorgeous bag- and I love that it’s easy to open! You look amazing in this plaid jacket, btw!

    -Ashley
    Le Stylo Rouge

    • thatnewd February 9, 2018 / 1:40 am

      Thank you hunny, my red obsession continues as this jacket shows! Haha xx

    • thatnewd February 9, 2018 / 1:40 am

      Thank you daring xx

  14. Vika January 30, 2018 / 8:27 pm

    Sounds really interesting! Thanks for the post)

    • thatnewd February 9, 2018 / 1:11 am

      Thank you Vika xx

    • thatnewd February 10, 2018 / 4:57 pm

      Thank you so much hun xx

    • thatnewd February 10, 2018 / 5:39 pm

      Yay, thank you so much xx

  15. Enny Law January 31, 2018 / 12:21 am

    Cute!
    I love the detail, but I need a big bag,

    • thatnewd February 10, 2018 / 5:40 pm

      You’ll be surprised just how much you can fit in it! But totally understand why prefer large bags xx

    • thatnewd February 10, 2018 / 5:40 pm

      Thank you so much Jane xx

    • thatnewd February 10, 2018 / 5:40 pm

      You’re the sweetest, thank you SO much hun xx

    • thatnewd February 10, 2018 / 5:41 pm

      Thank you! xx

  16. Heather Rowland February 1, 2018 / 7:47 am

    This bag is so pretty! I have to admit though that I am absolutely in love with your jacket – the bright colourful pattern is so pretty and it looks super cosy too!!

    Heather xoxo
    https://www.hefafa.me.uk

    • thatnewd February 10, 2018 / 5:41 pm

      I’m obsessed with this jacket tooooo! Was a bit of an impulse buy but I’m very happy with it xx

  17. Vivian February 1, 2018 / 10:46 am

    My friend has been eyeing on this bag for the longest time haha! I love the sleek design of this bag and the triangle closure is so unique! And I think you’ve made right choice girl: If you ask me,the Barcelona bag is more beautiful than the Puzzle bag, and I love the size of this bag as well. It’s a pity that the shoulder strap could fall all of a sudden..Have you tried to contact the store for this yet? Maybe they can repair it for you!

    Anyway, as always, you look beautiful and your outfit is so on point!

    Hope you are having an amazing week 🙂

    Vivian x

    • thatnewd February 10, 2018 / 5:43 pm

      I’ve been meaning to speak to the store about it but haven’t got around to it yet. Fingers crossed they’ll be able to help! I’m really happy to hear you prefer this to the Puzzle, makes me feel like I made the right choice xx

    • thatnewd February 10, 2018 / 5:43 pm

      Thank you so much lovely Len xx

    • thatnewd February 10, 2018 / 5:45 pm

      It definitely was an investment but hopefully, I’ll be wearing it for a lifetime! xx

    • thatnewd February 10, 2018 / 5:45 pm

      Thank darling! xx

    • thatnewd February 10, 2018 / 5:45 pm

      Thank you! I love red and grey toooooo! xx

    • thatnewd February 10, 2018 / 5:46 pm

      Aww thank you so much for the lovely comment xx

  18. Gil Zetbase February 1, 2018 / 7:35 pm

    Wonderful bag!
    Have a nice week!
    Gil Zetbase

    • thatnewd February 10, 2018 / 5:46 pm

      Thank you, hope you had a great week too xx

  19. Vika February 1, 2018 / 8:27 pm

    As usual very interesting! Have a nice weekend)

    • thatnewd February 10, 2018 / 5:46 pm

      Thank you Vika! xx

    • thatnewd February 10, 2018 / 5:47 pm

      Isn’t it so unique?! I’m obsessed with the closure! xx

  20. Ana February 1, 2018 / 11:07 pm

    It’s such a nice and versatile bag! I think it’s always better to stick with neutral colors when it comes to luxury handbags, because that way it’s so much easier to style them. I adore your jacket Dominique! You look amazingly stunning in pretty much everything! xx
    Ana

    http://www.anapicazzo.com

    • thatnewd February 10, 2018 / 5:47 pm

      Totally agree, neutral is always best when you spend big! Thank you for being such a sweetie xx

  21. Jessica February 2, 2018 / 1:21 pm

    That’s definitely a gorgeous bag you got there babe. Love the classy and straight-forward look. Lovely plaid coat too.
    Jessica | notjessfashion.com

    • thatnewd February 10, 2018 / 5:48 pm

      Thank you lovely Jessica xx

    • thatnewd February 10, 2018 / 5:48 pm

      Awww so glad you think so doll xx

    • thatnewd February 10, 2018 / 6:19 pm

      Thank you lovely Julia xx

  22. Pentené February 4, 2018 / 6:27 am

    First off – your outfit is super cute. Now on to this bag! It’s so chic and stylish. I love it. The details are so unique. I’m glad you chose this one over the puzzle one although you have those subtle grievances with it.

    Xoxo
    http://www.stylemefancy.com

    • thatnewd February 10, 2018 / 6:20 pm

      Thank you hunny! I’m really happy to hear you prefer the Barcelona over the Puzzle, yay! xx

  23. Lorna February 5, 2018 / 9:57 pm

    I’ve been a huge fan of Loewe too for a while, but never ordered anything from them. The elephant bags were what caught my eye! I do love this one, it’s really chic and sophisticated like you said. That’s so scary to think it’s come undone and fell to the ground though, gosh, I would be so worried!! Shame it scratches easy too, but it is gorgeous!

    Raindrops of Sapphire

    • thatnewd February 10, 2018 / 6:29 pm

      I adore the elephant bags! I have the purse but would love the bag version, I just can’t bring myself to spend that much money! xx

    • thatnewd February 20, 2018 / 1:19 am

      Of course I will hunny xx

  24. Alex February 11, 2018 / 6:04 pm

    SUCH A CUTE BAG. I don’t own many designer bags, but I’m loving this one! Thanks for the great review of it!

    Alex | http://www.SoFitSoPretty.com

    • thatnewd February 20, 2018 / 1:23 am

      Thank you! This bag is definitely a goodun’, I’m totally enamored with it! xx

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *