Review: Givenchy Antigona

 

Review Givenchy Antigona

 

I had my eye on a Givenchy Antigona for at least two seasons before I impulsively splurged on one quite unexpectedly during a shopping trip at Bicester Village.  Now that I’ve had it just over a year, I thought I’d do a full review in case anyone is also thinking of treating themselves to this gorgeous bag.

The Antigona comes in 3 sizes; mini, small and medium.  I have the medium in the exotic leather, Pirarucu.  You can see more detailed photos of the bag and read my first impressions HERE.

 

Review Givenchy Antigona

 

Wearability

The first thing to say is this has a very structured shape which personally I’m a big fan of.  I simply adore the overall aesthetic with its clean lines and minimalistic styling.  If you prefer an understated look then this bag is a perfect choice.

I have the largest size available which I find to be quite formal and business like.  If you like the look of the Antigona but want something a little more relaxed I would 100% recommend the smaller sizes.  The mini particularly has a much more casul vibe as it’s easier to throw over your shoulder or even crossbody.  If I could go back in time and change anything it would be the size and these are the reasons why.

 

Review Givenchy Antigona

 

Firstly, as I’ve already said the larger size makes it feel much more business like, so I do feel restricted by it sometimes.  Often it’s too formal to wear with my outfit, such as with a pretty dress, or it’s so big that it just overpowers the whole look.  I sometimes feel like I’m carrying a small suitcase around with me!

Secondly, this bag is almost impossible to fill, even if you did successfully manage to stuff it full, it’s super heavy and the handles cut into your hands.  Although the alternative of having it only half full means you end up constantly rooting around for things, as it’s so deep which is equally annoying.

 

 

The third and final thing that is frustrating about the “medium” size is even though it has a shoulder strap this bag is so big that it sits really uncomfortably against your body.  Ultimately you have to carry it with the top handle which can be a bit cumbersome.

Having said all that I do love using this bag for meetings, particularly during the winter season, or when I’m travelling.

 

Review Givenchy Antigona

 

Quality 

The quality is honestly second to none.  I don’t treat my handbags particularly well, they tend to get thrown around and yet I haven’t noticed any wear or tear.  Also, mine is one of their exotics leathers which makes it even more delicate so I’m very impressed there are no scuffs.  The Antigona gets a 10/10 for impeccable quality and craftmanship.

 

 

Review Givenchy Antigona

 

Price

Pricing, like most handbags, varies depending on the size and type of leather.  This season you’re looking somewhere between £1060 – £3290 (the mini on average is £1060, the small on average is £1300 and the medium on average is £1500).  Yet another reason to go for the smaller sizes is they are that little bit less money.  Given how expensive bags have gotten over the years, Chanel’s prices never fail to shock me, I think the Antigona is a great buy.  It’s a classic style, beautiful quality and makes a statment without being too in your face.  Just make sure you get yourself the mini or small size!

 

 

 

0
SHARE:

94 Comments

  1. Maija Lily September 17, 2016 / 8:31 pm

    Love that bag! I haven’t yet seen it in this leather and I think it is just so gorgeous and different – definitely a unique piece to have. I’ve always had a love for the structured antigona style!

    Lovely post!
    http://www.greenteavogueandme.com

    Maija Lily Xx

    • thatnewd September 24, 2016 / 12:28 am

      I think they only did this leather for one season in black and brown. It’s such a fab bag, so glad I took the plunge and treat myself! Thank you for the lovely comment hun xx

  2. Emily September 17, 2016 / 10:01 pm

    Super cute bag and I LOVE your outfit choice with it. I am in dire need of a skirt exactly like that. It’s too cute! Hope you are having a great weekend. 🙂

    -Emily http://www.coatandcoffee.com

    • thatnewd September 20, 2016 / 6:20 pm

      Aww thanks hunny! I’ve had this skirt a couple of years and I’ve got so much wear out it, I love it! Definitely recommend it xx

    • thatnewd September 27, 2016 / 8:38 pm

      Haha you’re so sweet! Thanks doll xx

  3. Fe Samaia September 17, 2016 / 11:31 pm

    You look so amazing love! I absolutely love this handbag… I am looking to purchase a new one and have been deciding between this one and the Celine bag. Such a hard decision…but thank you for the tips!

    xoxo
    Fe
    fesamaia.com

    • thatnewd September 23, 2016 / 11:55 pm

      Honestly go for the Antigona! I personally think it’s so much more timeless than a Celine. Let me know what you decide in the end xx

  4. Vanessa September 18, 2016 / 1:21 am

    Stunning look, love your top. <333
    I'm back on my blog…

    • thatnewd September 20, 2016 / 6:23 pm

      Thank you hunny xx

    • thatnewd September 20, 2016 / 6:23 pm

      Thanks doll xx

    • thatnewd September 20, 2016 / 7:18 pm

      Thanks so much darling!! xx

    • thatnewd September 20, 2016 / 7:18 pm

      I totally agree! Hehe xx

    • thatnewd September 20, 2016 / 7:19 pm

      Awww thank you so much hun xx

    • thatnewd September 20, 2016 / 7:19 pm

      Thanks doll xx

    • thatnewd September 20, 2016 / 7:19 pm

      Thank you! xx

    • thatnewd September 20, 2016 / 7:19 pm

      Thanks doll, it’s not so new but still totally in love with it!! Hehe xx

  5. confashiontime September 18, 2016 / 4:38 pm

    I love this bag!! It looks so elegant and unique. Makes me wanna have one too! And I love the way you combined it with this beautiful outfit, which already has a touch of fall! Happy Sunday dear! xx

    http://www.confashiontime.com

    • thatnewd September 20, 2016 / 7:20 pm

      Yes, treat yourself to one, you deserve it!! Thank you for the lovely comment xx

  6. Allie Mackin September 18, 2016 / 5:32 pm

    You know sometimes you just have to splurge and this is soooooo worth the splurge. That is one gorgeous bag and I would definitely consider purchasing this myself.

    Allie of ALLIENYC
    http://www.allienyc.com

    • thatnewd September 20, 2016 / 7:20 pm

      Girl you and I totally think the same! I definitely recommend the Antigona! xx

  7. Amy September 18, 2016 / 8:32 pm

    That bag is amazing! Thanks for sharing with us the review. Looks amazing with your outfit.

    Amy Ann
    Straight A Style

    • thatnewd September 20, 2016 / 7:21 pm

      Thank you sweetie, hope the review was helpful and informative! xx

    • thatnewd September 20, 2016 / 7:21 pm

      Thank you Olga xx

    • thatnewd September 20, 2016 / 7:21 pm

      My pleasure, I hope you enjoyed it! xx

    • thatnewd September 20, 2016 / 7:22 pm

      Thanks hun xx

    • thatnewd September 20, 2016 / 7:22 pm

      That’s very sweet, thank you! xx

  8. HaveBest September 19, 2016 / 6:58 am

    You are looking so gorgeous.

    • thatnewd September 20, 2016 / 7:22 pm

      Awww thanks!! xx

    • thatnewd September 20, 2016 / 7:22 pm

      Thank you, it’s an oldie but goodie! xx

    • thatnewd September 20, 2016 / 7:23 pm

      Haha thank you! I’m once you do, you’ll treasure it forever!! xx

    • thatnewd September 20, 2016 / 7:23 pm

      Thank you so much hun xx

  9. vivalaViv September 19, 2016 / 10:29 am

    I love your Antigona which was made with the exotic leather! Truly, as a woman, finding a perfect bag, especially a daily bag is a mission! A great fashion story you styled in the fabulous earth toned look!
    This is one of my posts regarding handbags:
    https://vivalaviv.com/2013/10/27/we-are-what-we-carry/

    Vivienne X

    • thatnewd September 20, 2016 / 7:23 pm

      Tell me about it girl! Thank you so much for your sweet comment xx

    • thatnewd September 20, 2016 / 7:43 pm

      Thank you doll xx

  10. Ravi Roshan Jaiswal September 19, 2016 / 10:43 am

    Hi there,

    Wow great looking bags. Thanks for introducing the collection of wonderful handbags. I’m sure women need to have such bag, these days. The best way to carry a bag is wearing a matching dress with the bag. You are looking so beautiful wearing this fabulous dress and with bag.

    I would like to remind you that this bag is going to famous among girls and women who to love carry bag all the special day. It makes women more fashionable and stylish. This bag is comes with an amazing look and knowing about their quality, I got impressed, you know. Knowing about this bag by review, was awesome for me.

    I would like to recommend this bag for those who love carry trendy bag.

    Thanks for sharing it.
    ~ Ravi.

    • thatnewd September 20, 2016 / 7:44 pm

      Glad you liked the post and thank you for your comment xx

  11. Gemma September 19, 2016 / 1:57 pm

    Loved this post as my Antigona is my favourite and by far most used bag! I have the small size which fits in loads for a small bag. Yours is absolutely stunning! I think it’s so unusual and really special. I actually like the size too. A true classic that will never date!

    Gemma x
    http://www.jacquardflower.uk

    • thatnewd September 20, 2016 / 7:44 pm

      Isn’t it such a gorgeous bag?! I agree it’s an absolute classic! xx

    • thatnewd September 20, 2016 / 7:44 pm

      Thank you so much darling! xx

  12. Christina September 19, 2016 / 2:28 pm

    The leather you selected is so unique! Great review and can’t wait to see how you continue styling it. 🙂

    Best,
    Christina

    Looks by Lau

    • thatnewd September 20, 2016 / 7:45 pm

      Aww you are the sweetest, thank you! xx

    • thatnewd September 20, 2016 / 7:45 pm

      You’re a sweetie, thank you! xx

  13. Amy-Anne September 19, 2016 / 5:41 pm

    This blog is so pretty ohmygoodness I adore it so much. And this outfit *_* perfection.

    Amy;
    Little Moon Elephant

    • thatnewd September 20, 2016 / 7:45 pm

      That’s so kind and really appreciated, thank you!! xx

  14. Kay September 19, 2016 / 6:46 pm

    Oh my goodness, this handbag is to die for! It goes so well with the rest of your outfit. 🙂 I like how it’s so stylish and versatile, perfect for any occassion! Thanks for sharing, hun. <3

    Kay
    http://shoesandglitter.com

    • thatnewd September 20, 2016 / 7:47 pm

      Haha thank you! Glad you enjoyed the post and hope it useful doll! xx

  15. Chelsea September 19, 2016 / 7:03 pm

    This is a great thorough review! I agree it looks a bit big, but that can be good for traveling? Thanks for sharing!

    Chelsea
    Chow Down USA
    Instagram

    • thatnewd September 20, 2016 / 7:48 pm

      Thank you darling!! xx

    • thatnewd September 20, 2016 / 7:49 pm

      Awww I’m so glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for the comment sweetie xx

    • thatnewd September 20, 2016 / 7:49 pm

      Awww thank you hun! xx

  16. Jalisa September 19, 2016 / 9:57 pm

    I have a black Antigona on my wish list because I just adore the shape and style! This one you’re sharing today, however, is so incredibly gorgeous and so unique, I don’t believe I’ve ever seen anyone wear it before! I have the LV Trevi GM and I feel exactly the same way, it’s massive, haha, so I think I’ll go for either the medium or small in this one, thank so much for mentioning this! PS: I’m also LOVING this entire outfit! I hope you’re having a great start to your week so far, beauty!

    XO,

    Jalisa
    http://www.thestylecontour.com

    • thatnewd September 20, 2016 / 7:51 pm

      Treat yourself! I think they only did this leather for one season, I’ve never seen this one again. So happy I bought it! I hope you do get yours soon xx

  17. Janea September 19, 2016 / 10:30 pm

    Beautiful bag, and it looks so gorgeous with your transitioning-to-fall outfit. I know what you mean when you talk about having to dig in a bag – lol – but sometimes a big bag is definitely worth having. Thanks for sharing! XO

    http://theSTYLetti.com

    • thatnewd September 20, 2016 / 7:51 pm

      Haha totally! Thank you for the wonderful comment doll xx

    • thatnewd September 20, 2016 / 7:52 pm

      Awww thanks hun xx

  18. Kasie Chelanne September 20, 2016 / 4:48 am

    The Antigona is SO STUNNING! I love the classic shape of these bags. It’s wonderful to hear that they’re as durable as they are gorgeous…it really seems like they are a fantastic buy!

    • thatnewd September 23, 2016 / 11:56 pm

      They are super durable and sturdy bags! Thank you for the lovely comment hun xx

    • thatnewd September 24, 2016 / 12:33 am

      You’re the sweetest, thank you xx

    • thatnewd September 24, 2016 / 11:58 am

      Thank you so much hun xx

    • thatnewd September 24, 2016 / 11:53 am

      Awww thanks girl xx

    • thatnewd September 24, 2016 / 11:54 am

      Awww you’re the sweetest, thank you for the lovely comment xx

    • thatnewd September 24, 2016 / 11:56 am

      Glad you enjoyed!! xx

  19. Desiree September 26, 2016 / 4:10 am

    Thanks for the full review! It’s a beautiful bag and I love the exotic material – the texture lends to a beautiful print that looks great with solids.

    • thatnewd September 27, 2016 / 9:37 pm

      Awww thank you so much, that’s so lovely of you xx

  20. Lorena September 26, 2016 / 7:07 pm

    I’ve never purchased a bag from Givenchy – this one in particular I had never seen – I love the size, shape and color: a wise investment I’d say. You’ll probably wear it so much that the CPW will be a down to zero.

    • thatnewd September 27, 2016 / 9:54 pm

      Haha I hope so! It’s definitely a unique piece, I feel really lucky to have it! xx

  21. Mercy September 29, 2016 / 8:46 am

    Happy to read this though it’s one of your previous posts. I’ve been thinking of getting an Antigona too, small would be better I guess. I haven’t seen this kind of leather anywhere but here, you got a unique piece in there. Nice review, I like it.

    http://www.busyandfab.com

    • thatnewd October 1, 2016 / 5:43 pm

      Ooooh let me know if you get one, I love the Antigona shape! It’s so elegant and classic! xx

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *