Review: Christian Louboutin Pigalle & Pigalle Follies

 

Review Christian Louboutin Pigalle

 

If you’re into your luxury brands or heels then a pair of Christian Louboutins are a wardrobe staple.  There’s something about those seductive red lacquered soles that makes women (and men) go weak at the knees.  Louboutin reigns and will probably continue to do so for the foreseeable future as the go-to brand for attention grabbing heels.

 

Review Christian Louboutin Pigalle

 

I think most people would agree the classic Louboutin style is the Pigalle, which is basically a very elegant pointed pump.  It rarely goes on sale, even the seasonal colours usually sell out long before the sale even begins and if you’re after the nude or black, expect the prices to go up almost year on year.

The Pigalle comes in 3 different heel heights, 120mm, 100mm and 80mm.  The classic colours are black and nude.  FYI the nude is similar but just a touch pinker than the shade I have on.

The Pigalle I’m wearing is patent leather with a 100mm heel in the colour Colombe which is seasonal shade.

 

Review Christian Louboutin Pigalle

 

Wearability

If you like your heels you’ll love these.  They couldn’t be more wearable; they look amazing with EVERYTHING.  I’ll happily wear them all year round, either glammed up for a night out or for meetings paired with a power suit.  I always feel confident wearing them and there is something about the red sole that makes me feel that little bit sassier!  They 100% tick the wearability box.

 

Review Christian Louboutin PigalleReview Christian Louboutin Pigalle

 

Comfort

So Christian Louboutin gets a bad rep for comfort which quite honestly is well deserved!  I have quite a few pairs of his shoes which are simply unwearable (you can read me moaning about a pair HERE).  The Pigalle shape has a bad rep which is one of the few I think is unfair.  While these certainly aren’t the comfiest shoes in the world, given the heel height and sharp pointed toe, they’re actually not that bad.  I could easily wear these for most of the night without too many issues.  Plus they do pass the twirling test with flying colours!

Sizing

I recommend taking your normal size and if you’re between sizes, size down.  They should feel slightly snug especially around the toebox.  These do stretch a little, even in the patent leather, so it’s much better to errr on the smaller side.

 

Review Christian Louboutin Pigalle

 

 

Quality

The quality is great.  I’ve noticed very little wear and tear.  Even the red soles have worn at a reasonable rate.

 

Review Christian Louboutin PigalleReview Christian Louboutin Pigalle

 

Price

These start from £425 and obviously if you go for an exotic leather, glitter or an embellished version the price does go up.  Although these are undeniably a lot of money they are on par with the likes of Jimmy Choo and Gianvito Rossi and if you compare them with Valentino Rockstuds which retails for £630, they’re good value in comparison.  Plus you have to consider just how much potential wear you can get out of these, which is a lot.  If you’re a heel girl and can happily strut around them all day long (sadly I’m not one!), you could potentially wear these all day every day!

 

Review Christian Louboutin PigalleReview Christian Louboutin Pigalle

 

Given the immense popularity of the Pigalle, Louboutin designed various different versions of it in a bid to make it even sexier.  One of these is the Pigalle Follies, which I have in patent leather in heel height 100mm in the seasonal colour Rose.

 

 

The main differences between the Pigalle and Pigalle Follie are the much narrower, more tapered heel, the slightly slimmer and more pointed toe and the toe box which is cut lower so you get slightly more “toe cleavage”.

 

Review Christian Louboutin Pigalle

 

I’m not going to run through the 5 individual points for this style because I really have only one thing to say about them.  They are painful from the moment you put your foot in them and I wouldn’t dream of wearing them for more than hour, maybe two at push, even if I was at a sit down dinner.  These are shoes to be looked at and not worn!

 

Review Christian Louboutin PigalleReview Christian Louboutin Pigalle

 

There’s no denying the Pigalle Follies are beautiful shoes but they are not worth the extra discomfort.  If you want to add some Christian Louboutin heels to your shoe collection, I would wholehearted recommend sticking to the original Pigalle shape.  Trust me, your feet will thank you!

 

 

0
SHARE:

48 Comments

  1. mahryska September 30, 2016 / 8:12 am

    ok i am thinking of getting the original ones in nude and thanks for this post coz i now can make a proper decision. obviously it would be better to go to the store and try them on first hehehe 🙂
    kisses from the sandpits of dubai ❤️
    http://www.mahryska.com

    • thatnewd October 3, 2016 / 7:53 pm

      Yes do it!!! Definitely try them on first though xx

  2. cvetybaby September 30, 2016 / 9:24 am

    Those shoes are so elegant and sexy! I’m in love with your black pants! Just perfect pair!
    xx
    cvetybaby.com

    • thatnewd October 3, 2016 / 7:53 pm

      Aww thank you hun!! xx

    • thatnewd October 3, 2016 / 7:54 pm

      Thank you doll! xx

  3. Janea September 30, 2016 / 3:37 pm

    Wow! What a great and thorough review of the Pigalle! I also wish I were one of those girls who could wear heels all day long. They are so beautiful, sexy, leg-lengthening, and glamorous. Thank you for sharing! XO
    Janea
    http://theSTYLetti.com

    • thatnewd October 3, 2016 / 7:54 pm

      I’m so glad you enjoyed the post! If only we were heel girls! I can just about manage a night out but that’s it! xx

  4. yuka September 30, 2016 / 4:52 pm

    I love the pink ones!! omg they are so cute! I have never owned louboutin heels before but I’m always curious if they live up to the hype. thanks for the review!

    http://www.prettyinleather.net

    • thatnewd October 3, 2016 / 7:56 pm

      They are amazing shoes, if you’re prepared to put up with a little discomfort! If you ever decide to take the plunge and treat yourself then definitely go for the Pigalle! xx

  5. Amy September 30, 2016 / 5:23 pm

    I’ve been wanting their classic nude pair! Great review.

    Amy Ann
    Straight A Style

    • thatnewd October 3, 2016 / 7:57 pm

      Do it!! It should be your treat after baby is born, although not sure they’ll be all that practical! Hahaxx

    • thatnewd October 3, 2016 / 7:57 pm

      Thank you so much lovely xx

  6. Tamara September 30, 2016 / 6:15 pm

    I remember trying them on in store intending to buy them, but they hurt my feet so quickly… walking to the mirror was a struggle. Thankfully I decided not to buy them. There are so many other beautiful brands and designs that are as gorgeous but wayyy more comfortable!

    XoXo,

    Tamara – LoveofMode.com

    • thatnewd October 3, 2016 / 7:58 pm

      Which style did you try on? A heel of this height will always be a little uncomfortable. Gianvito Rossi are the absolute best for comfortable heels! xx

  7. Carmen September 30, 2016 / 9:09 pm

    I just love how you styled those fantastic heels differently in those looks – both are so beautiful! Great post dear <3
    xx, Carmen – http://www.carmitive.com

    • thatnewd October 3, 2016 / 7:58 pm

      That’s so sweet thank you hun xx

  8. Sophie Nadeau September 30, 2016 / 11:12 pm

    Oh my goodness; I absolutely love the pink heels… they just complete the outfit!

    • thatnewd October 3, 2016 / 7:59 pm

      Thanks girl! They look great but they aren’t all that comfortable! xx

  9. Face to Curls October 1, 2016 / 3:12 am

    Your heels are just stunning! I love them so much. I don’t own any shoes from Christian Louboutin but will definitely keep your recommendations in mind to try the Pigalle shape for comfort as nobody wants sore feet from their shoes.

    Ann-Marie | http://facetocurls.com

    • thatnewd October 3, 2016 / 7:59 pm

      I agree, sore feet are SO not worth it!! Thank you for the lovely comment xx

    • thatnewd October 3, 2016 / 8:02 pm

      Thank you so much sweetie! No its not a collaboration, these are my own personal shoes. I’m just reviewing them in case anyone else was thinking of purchasing them xx

    • thatnewd October 3, 2016 / 8:02 pm

      Thanks hun, these are my bargains pants from the Outnet clearance sale! xx

    • thatnewd October 6, 2016 / 3:01 pm

      I love a bit of pink! Hehe xx

    • thatnewd October 3, 2016 / 8:16 pm

      Hehe thank you! xx

  10. Ivi October 2, 2016 / 2:08 am

    I am dreaming of Louboutins 😉 I hope this dream will come true one day 😉 You look so gorgeous in this dress! xoxo

    http://www.naomella.com

    • thatnewd October 3, 2016 / 8:16 pm

      Aww thanks doll! I’m sure they will, Louboutins are pretty much the ultimate heel! xx

  11. Angel October 2, 2016 / 12:07 pm

    love the gorgeous pink color but the discomfort would most definitely turn me off since I love comfy shoes but they do look so beautiful to look at

    • thatnewd October 3, 2016 / 8:17 pm

      Beauty is pain but in the case of these shoes I sadly don’t think the pain is all that worth it! xx

  12. Gelleesh October 2, 2016 / 12:53 pm

    The Pigalle Follies look cute but they do look uncomfortable. The classic pieces are often the best. I’d love to have my own pair of Louboutins some day and will definitely go for the classic Pigalle on my first pair. Thanks for the tip! 🙂

    xoxo,
    Gelleesh.com

    • thatnewd October 3, 2016 / 8:17 pm

      The Pigalle is hands down the pair to get! Plus they’re classics so they will never go out of style! xx

    • thatnewd October 3, 2016 / 8:18 pm

      Thank you xx

  13. Gemma October 2, 2016 / 4:45 pm

    Wonderful post. I love the Pigalle. I have them in black but the 85mm heel which was much more comfortable for me as I’m not very good in heels. I too don’t find them too uncomfortable to wear.

    Hope you are having a lovely weekend.

    Gemma x
    http://www.jacquardflower.uk

    • thatnewd October 3, 2016 / 8:19 pm

      I think the 85mm is a great height! You don’t get such a steep arch in the shoe, so they’re so much comfier to wear! The classic Pigalle is a much better shape than the Pigalle Follie for sure! xx

    • thatnewd October 3, 2016 / 8:19 pm

      Awww thanks girl, you’re so sweet! xx

  14. Desiree October 3, 2016 / 4:47 am

    That’s really great info. Although I love the rose pair on you, I will definitely take your advice and opt for the Pigalle. BTW, I love those navy culottes! They’re so freakin’ cute and they look fab on you.

    Xoxo,
    http://www.fashionlingual.com

    • thatnewd October 3, 2016 / 8:24 pm

      Thank you so much hun! These culottes were the ultimate bargain from The Outnet’s clearance sale! xx

  15. Lisa October 4, 2016 / 10:40 am

    I´m lusting after Louboutins ever since I became aware that fashion is a thing. I think those red soles are every girls dream. Sadly, I´m not much a fan of thin heels. I can´t walk in them and just find them highly unpractically. I need some comfy ankle boots with a red sole and I´ll happily spent all that money. I´d absolutely love to go for these heels though if I knew I would actually wear them out.
    xx Lisa | Following Lisa

    • thatnewd October 6, 2016 / 4:20 pm

      I totally understand about not getting on with slim stilettos. Louboutin do have some flats and gorgeous heeled boots you could check out xx

  16. Shannon November 14, 2016 / 10:55 am

    Thanks for the post! I have been tossing up between the original Pigalles and the Follies, and this really helps xx

    • thatnewd November 15, 2016 / 1:22 pm

      I’m so glad this was helpful, it always makes my day when I hear that!! xx

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *