REVIEW: BALMAIN BLAZER (THE ULTIMATE RUNDOWN WITH EVERYTHING YOU NEED TO KNOW!)

 

 

When it comes to luxury ready-to-wear I’m not usually a huge spender.  I tend to put my money in shoes and bags.  However, I have one major weakness which gets me spending BIG TIME and that’s Balmain blazers.

 

 

I’ve chatted about my love affair with Balmain many, many, many times.  Despite talking about this obsession endlessly I’ve never done a proper review on their blazers.  I’ve blogged about me shopping for them (catch it HERE and HERE), my Balmain x H&M experience (read that HERE) and the best way to style them (see HERE).

It is obvious I think these blazers are amazing and worth the money, so instead of doing my usual of discussing the overall wearability, quality and price, I’m going to talk individually about the 3 types of Balmain jackets I own: mainline, vintage and Balmain x H&M.

 

 

Mainline

Balmain’s hero piece season after season is the double-breasted blazer.  They’ve done it in just about every fabric and colour.

I’ve said this before but I’ll say it again, if you want to invest in a blazer which you’ll wear time and time again, Balmain is the ONLY option.  Honestly, you won’t regret it.  I wear mine with everything, whether it be for meetings when I need to look smart or I’ll throw it over a pretty dress when I’m catching up with the girls at brunch.  There is no occasion this jacket isn’t perfect for.

 

 

The fabric, cut and weight of the buttons cannot be replicated.  I don’t care how good a dupe is, you’ll never be able to reach the same level of quality and fit.  Nothing fits like a Balmain blazer and this is due to the incredible cut which nips you in at the waist and fits perfectly across the shoulders.  It provides a stunning silhouette without making you look bulky.

The price of these are a little scary and they go up every year.  They’re currently around the £1500 mark.  You just have to justify it by thinking about that cost per wear!

 

 

Finally, I thought I’d touch on sizing.  This grey one is a size FR40, which translates as a UK12 and is about 2 sizes too big but I got it for a steal, so I had to make do.  I mostly wear it thrown across my shoulders so I just about get away with it.  As a general rule of thumb, these come true to size.  You can size down if you prefer a more fitted and accentuated silhouette.  Alternatively, if you’re like me and tend to wear jackets over your shoulders then consider sizing up a size.  You can read more about sizing and how to work out the correct fit

As a general rule of thumb, these come true to size.  You can size down if you prefer a more fitted and accentuated silhouette.  Alternatively, if you’re like me and tend to wear jackets over your shoulders then consider sizing up a size.  You can read more about sizing and how to work out the correct fit HERE.

 

Outfit details: Dress – ASOS (find HERE or very similar HERE) | Jacket – Balmain (similar HERE) | Shoes – Pretty Little Thing (find HERE) | Bag – Sadie Stone (find HERE & use code thatnewdress to get 10% off)

 

Vintage

My first ever Balmain jacket was a vintage find from my favourite preloved store (you can read the full story HERE).

I wanted to mention vintage styles and archive designs as it’s much easier to find these at a bargain price.  Just because certain styles are not “current” doesn’t mean they should be dismissed.  I often find there’s a tendency to feel the need to buy the latest and hottest design if you’re investing a sizable amount of money.  However, with a brand like Balmain their designs are so timeless and the quality is so fantastic, it doesn’t matter if it’s a few years, or even a decade old.  It will still feel and look just as amazing.

 

 

If you’re interested in finding a vintage Balmain jacket these are a few of my favourites HERE, HERE and HERE which I’m currently crushing on! You shouldn’t expect to spend more than £600-£800 for a vintage; anything more is overpriced!

 

 

My only word of warning with vintage is sizing can be a little precarious.  I’m wearing a FR38 which is my usual size and it is so tight around my arms and back.  I usually only wear it when I’m having a “skinny day”!

If you’ve seen one online and can’t try it on, seek advice either through a fashion forum or always feel free to message me with any questions (all my social handles are below).

 

Outfit details: Dress – New Look (find HERE on SALE or similar HERE with sleeves and even more gorgeous) | Jacket – Balmain (find HERE & HERE preloved or similar HERE if you’re not a fan of preloved) | Shoes – Saint Laurent (find HERE & HERE) | Bag- Givenchy (similar HERE & HERE)

 

Balmain X H&M

Despite the Balmain x H&M collection being 3 years old (where has the time gone?!) I couldn’t fail to give it a mention.  If you don’t want to spend big but love the “Balmain look” then try and find something from this collaboration rather than buy a copy from the likes of Missguided or Pretty Little Thing.  If you search Depop, eBay or Vestiaire Collective, they do pop up every now and again.

 

 

I bought this, which is technically a dress but I only ever wear it as a jacket, from another blogger on Depop about 6 months ago.  I paid £240 for it.  This collection has really held its value and some sellers are still asking for big money. However, I wouldn’t recommend spending more than £300 on one of the blazers, especially if it’s already been worn.

 

 

The quality of this collection blew me away.  Obviously, it is not the exact same as the mainline but it’s pretty close.  The gold buttons are weighty, the satin lapels feel similar to my vintage Balmain jacket and the cut is perfection.  Without a shadow of a doubt, you are getting the Balmain look and quality for a fraction of the price.

Apart from this blazer, I also have the leather jacket, satin dress, leather trousers and suede trousers from this collaboration and every piece comes up small, so I highly recommend sizing up.

 

 

I hope this rundown on everything Balmain blazers has been helpful.  I’ve tried to cover everything from pricing, to sizing, to quality but if I’ve missed anything please let me know.  Ultimately, the point of this post was to show whatever your budget, whether it be £1500, £700 or £200, you can have a stunning Balmain jacket in your wardrobe which you’ll wear over and over again

 

Outfit details: Dress – ASOS (find HERE on SALE) | Jacket – Balmain x H&M (Currently there are no preloved versions of this jacket available but similar from the mainline HERE & HERE) | Booties – Chloe (find HERE or the black versions HERE on SALE in limited sizes or this season’s terracotta version HERE & blue HERE) | Bag – Christian Dior (find HERE in black and HERE in tan)

 

Don’t forget you can also keep up with me on Instagram @thatnewdress, Twitter @thatnewdress, Bloglovin That New Dress, Snapchat thatnewdress and Depop @dominiquew.

 

 

 

0
SHARE:

102 Comments

  1. Ankita Bardhan March 3, 2018 / 7:42 am

    Loved reading your through and in depth review of the Balmain collection! I always have loved the fit and how the silhouette falls but yes the price has always stung me, but it’s worth investing for the wear we get.
    Hope you’re have an amazing weekend! 🙂
    xx
    Ankita
    http://realgirltalks.com/

    • thatnewd March 9, 2018 / 12:44 am

      You’re so right, they’re great value for money if you think about the cost per wear but it’s a lot to spend in one hit! xx

    • thatnewd March 9, 2018 / 12:44 am

      Thank you so much hun xx

  2. l'ambassadrice March 3, 2018 / 1:03 pm

    Your vintage Balmain blazer is just precious! I’m a sucker for vintage designer pieces: they’re cheaper, great quality and you won’t find anyone wearing the same blazer 🙂
    xx
    http://www.lambassadrice.com/

    • thatnewd March 9, 2018 / 12:45 am

      Totally agree hun and more often than not vintage is better quality than new! xx

  3. Dasynka March 3, 2018 / 4:42 pm

    These black blazers are just incredible and stunning on you! You stylished them so well and I’m happy for your shopping 🙂 You always remind me of an actress but I can’t remember who! so beautiful btw 🙂
    Dasynka
    http://dasynka.com

    • thatnewd March 9, 2018 / 12:45 am

      Oooh I wish you could think of the actress, I would LOVE to know! xx

    • thatnewd March 9, 2018 / 12:45 am

      Thank you so much sweetie xx

  4. Heather Rowland March 4, 2018 / 8:36 am

    Love all three balmain blazers – you look amazing in them! My favourite has to be the vintage one though – the starry dress you paired it with is just perfect!

    Heather xoxo
    https://www.hefafa.me.uk

    • thatnewd March 9, 2018 / 12:46 am

      The vintage one definitely seems to be a popular one! xx

    • thatnewd March 9, 2018 / 12:46 am

      Thank you xx

    • thatnewd March 9, 2018 / 12:46 am

      Thank you hun, I’m such a sucker for a starry dress xx

    • thatnewd March 9, 2018 / 12:47 am

      Thank you doll! I like the last look too. The jumper dress is the comfiest thing ever xx

  5. Vika March 4, 2018 / 3:12 pm

    Thanks for the interesting post) Have a nice day)

    • thatnewd March 9, 2018 / 12:47 am

      Thank you so much lovely xx

    • thatnewd March 9, 2018 / 12:48 am

      Thank you, anything with stars on is my favourite! xx

    • thatnewd March 9, 2018 / 12:48 am

      Thank you Zunera xx

    • thatnewd March 9, 2018 / 12:48 am

      The grey is my favourite too! I wear it to death xx

    • thatnewd March 9, 2018 / 12:48 am

      Thank you darling xx

    • thatnewd March 18, 2018 / 12:20 am

      You are such a sweetie, thank you hun xx

    • thatnewd March 18, 2018 / 1:25 am

      That’s such a lovely thing to say, thank you so much! I really appreciate it xx

  6. Marisa Cavaleiro March 5, 2018 / 12:05 pm

    These coats are fabulous. I like all three, but the favorite is the first !!!
    xoxo

    marisasclosetblog.com

    • thatnewd March 9, 2018 / 12:53 am

      That one is my favourite too! xx

    • thatnewd March 9, 2018 / 12:53 am

      Thank you so much darling xx

    • thatnewd March 9, 2018 / 12:53 am

      Thank you Gemma xx

    • thatnewd March 9, 2018 / 1:03 am

      Thank you so much lovely Laura xx

  7. Didier March 5, 2018 / 5:40 pm

    omg I hear you! I usually invest in designer bags and accessories because I feel like I get more usage out of it. This being said, I absolutely LOVE the vintage balmain look. It is such a beautiful pairing with the star dress!

    -Didier
    http://www.didieryhc.com

    • thatnewd March 9, 2018 / 1:03 am

      Thank you so much! I’m all about investing in less but better quality xx

    • thatnewd March 9, 2018 / 1:04 am

      Thank you so much hun xx

    • thatnewd March 9, 2018 / 1:04 am

      You’re such a sweetie, thanks doll xx

    • thatnewd March 9, 2018 / 1:04 am

      Thank you darling xx

    • thatnewd March 9, 2018 / 1:05 am

      So sweet, thank you hun xx

    • thatnewd March 9, 2018 / 1:07 am

      Isn’t Balmain just the best, it’s my very favourite designer of all! xx

    • thatnewd March 12, 2018 / 8:28 pm

      Thank you xx

    • thatnewd March 9, 2018 / 1:24 am

      Thank you Hena xx

    • thatnewd March 9, 2018 / 1:25 am

      Thank you hun xx

  8. Len Parent March 6, 2018 / 3:26 am

    You look amazing! Omg, those shoes are really cute! Love all your looks! Thanks for sharing!
    Have a great week!
    Much love, Len
    http://www.lenparent.com
    XO

    • thatnewd March 9, 2018 / 1:25 am

      Thanks doll, so glad you enjoyed the most hunny xx

  9. Mercy March 6, 2018 / 4:12 am

    Love love love your Balmain jacket collection! Really look good in anything you paired them with. My most favourite look is the second one with a sheer gold star dress.

    http://www.busyandfab.com

    • thatnewd March 9, 2018 / 1:27 am

      The second look seems to be very popular! I love anything with stars on it xx

    • thatnewd March 9, 2018 / 1:27 am

      Thank you so much hunny xx

  10. Annick March 6, 2018 / 3:07 pm

    love all three but I think the HM x Balmain is the chic-est 😊 I really enjoyed reading this post!

    https://annicklau.com

    • thatnewd March 9, 2018 / 1:28 am

      I get so much wear out of the Balmain x HM one. It was such a good buy xx

  11. Ashley March 6, 2018 / 4:33 pm

    You Balmain blazer collection is really killer, lady! I need a vintage one in my LIFE!

    -Ashley
    Le Stylo Rouge

    • thatnewd March 9, 2018 / 1:28 am

      You should soooo invest in one! They’re so unique and gorgeous xx

    • thatnewd March 9, 2018 / 1:29 am

      Thank you Luna xx

    • thatnewd March 9, 2018 / 1:30 am

      These boots are the best and I’m obsessed with them! I wear them all the time xx

    • thatnewd March 9, 2018 / 1:30 am

      Thank you darling xx

  12. jane March 7, 2018 / 2:29 am

    Those coats are perfect for runway.
    I love the cuts and edges of it.

    Much Love,
    Jane | The Bandwagon Chic

    • thatnewd March 9, 2018 / 1:35 am

      They are so beautifully cut, that’s why I adore these blazers so much xx

    • thatnewd March 9, 2018 / 1:36 am

      You’re so right! You definitely get your value for money out of a Balmain blazer which makes splurging easier to swallow xx

  13. Lovely March 7, 2018 / 10:58 am

    Adore your blazers darling, you look absolutely amazing!

    xoxo
    Lovely

    • thatnewd March 9, 2018 / 1:36 am

      You’re so lovely, thank you hun xx

    • thatnewd March 18, 2018 / 1:09 am

      Thank you so much! I always love versatile pieces xx

    • thatnewd March 9, 2018 / 1:48 am

      Awwww you’re a sweetie hun xx

    • thatnewd March 9, 2018 / 1:48 am

      That’s so lovely of you, thank you xx

  14. Florentina March 7, 2018 / 6:56 pm

    You look simply fantastic, all your outifts are great but my favourites one are the first and the second one. You seem a true princess in the second outfit, the dress and the blazer are gorgeous!
    Have a beautiful evening.
    Regards,
    Flo

    • thatnewd March 9, 2018 / 1:49 am

      Thank you so much! Oooh I love that you think I look like a princess, hehe xx

    • thatnewd March 9, 2018 / 1:49 am

      Thank you so much Tanya xx

    • thatnewd March 9, 2018 / 1:50 am

      I love stars, almost as much as Balmain jackets, hehe! xx

  15. Alyssa March 7, 2018 / 9:17 pm

    Those blazers looks really cool and will never go out of style 🙂

    xx Alyssa | STYLE VANITY

    • thatnewd March 9, 2018 / 1:50 am

      Totally agree, they’re such classics you wear for years and years xx

    • thatnewd March 9, 2018 / 1:50 am

      Thank you so much you lovely ladyyyy! xx

  16. Lorna March 8, 2018 / 11:51 am

    I have always wanted a Balmain blazer too, one in black. I think they’re so gorgeous! And obviously fitted to perfectly, but I can’t justify the price yet. Your vintage one is absolutely stunning though, the shoulder detailing is so cool!

    Raindrops of Sapphire

    • thatnewd March 12, 2018 / 9:00 pm

      You need one in your life! I promise you’ll wear it endlessly hun xx

    • thatnewd March 12, 2018 / 9:47 pm

      Thank you so much, this jacket is a favourite of mine xx

  17. jani March 15, 2018 / 10:30 pm

    I just very recently got my first blazer and I am hooked! I especially love the first one, the grey. So feminine, classic, and elegant! I love it. Thanks for sharing!

    Jani | http://www.mylifeinmedicineblog.com

    • thatnewd March 18, 2018 / 2:28 am

      Blazers are the best! I’m totally addicted too! xx

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *