REVIEW: ACNE STUDIOS LEATHER JACKET

 

 

Owning an Acne Studios leather jacket was on my wish-list for at least 18 months before I took the plunge and finally purchased one.  If you’ve been around this blog for a while you’ll know I tend to hold out for sales or special promotions before I buy something pricey.  I’m a firm believer even when it comes to luxury fashion, you can still shop smart, and this jacket is the perfect example of that.

My favourite outlet destination, Bicester Village, recently had a massive extension and added 30 new boutiques.  One of these new stores was Acne Studios.  As soon as I heard they’d opened up, I immediately planned a trip, specifically to score a leather jacket.  I ended up buying the Leather Biker Jacket in beige in a size FR32.

If you’d like to check out my full Bicester Village haul from this shopping trip you can find it HERE.  If you’d like to see some previous Bicester Village hauls, you can find them HEREHERE & HERE.

 

 

Wearability

I wear this jacket constantly and now the weather is getting warmer, I doubt I’ll ever take it off.  It goes with just about everything.  I can team it with dresses, jeans, skirts, playsuits and tailored trousers.  If you don’t believe me, you only need to see these posts HERE, HERE and HERE to see how obsessed I am with it.

Leather jackets in general are a wardrobe must-have and any good quality one should be versatile enough to team with a number of different looks.  However, there is something about the cut, slighter shorter length and fit of an Acne Studios jacket which blows every other leather jacket out the water.  It is elegant yet edgy and contemporary but classic.  It manages to be everything you want and more.

 

 

I was keen to invest in a jacket which wasn’t classic black, so this nude was perfect as it has a touch of feminity to it.  The great thing about Acne Studios is they’re known for leather jackets, so every season they bring out a new colour.  Whether you’re looking for black or something different, you’re bound to find your perfect shade.

My only gripe with this jacket is the belt.  As the buckle is quite heavy it weighs the belt down, so you do have to be wary of it sliding out of the belt loops.  Some people knot the belt around one of the loops, to stop them fretting about losing it.

 

 

Quality

I do not know one person who owns an Acne Studios leather jacket who doesn’t rave about the quality.  The great thing about these jackets is they get better with age, they’re like your favourite comfy armchair.  They just feel inviting and effortless.  

The leather isn’t the softest or supplest I’ve ever felt but equally, it’s not overly stiff either.  It is a perfect balance between smooth and hardwearing.  The great thing is you don’t have to worry about it scratching, it’s very hardy.  In terms of leather quality, it deserves a full 10/10.

 

 

My only initial worry about buying this jacket was the colour.  It’s so light I thought it might be susceptible to dirt.  However, it seems to pretty resilient so far and I’ve definitely put it through its paces!  I’ve worn in on the underground, out to bars/clubs and in the park, so far it’s stood the dirt test pretty well.

 

 

Value

As I mentioned I bought this jacket at Bicester Village and it was around 40% off RRP.  Full price they are usually about £1200 but I paid £840.  I’m not going to say this is the greatest bargain of all time but I know I will easily get my cost per wear out it.

It’s rare to be able to buy something so classic with such a sizeable discount.  If you have your heart set on an Acne Studios leather jacket, I highly, highly advise either visiting or contacting the boutique at Bicester Village to see what they have available.  When I was last there they had a selection of about 5 or 6 leather jackets in various colours and styles.

 

 

If you’re not UK based, there are also a couple of Acne outlets in mainland Europe called Acne Archives which I’ve heard are amazing.  If you’re holidaying in Copenhagen or Stockholm, I highly advise making the effort to visit.  Also, NetaPorter occasionally puts their leather pieces on sale too, so keep your eyes peeled when the sales roll around.

 

Outfit details: Jacket – Acne Studios (find HERE or HERE in black) | Polo neck – Mango (similar HERE) | Jeans – ZARA | Boots – Balenciaga (find HERE & HERE in white) | Bag – Sadie Stone (find HERE – use promo code THATNEWDRESS for 10% off)

 

Don’t forget you can also keep up with me on Instagram @thatnewdress, Twitter @thatnewdress, Bloglovin That New Dress, Snapchat thatnewdress and Depop @dominiquew.

 

 

 

0
SHARE:

68 Comments

    • thatnewd April 22, 2018 / 5:26 pm

      Hopefully, I’ll be wearing it for years to come! xx

  1. Marisa Cavaleiro April 10, 2018 / 1:21 pm

    Hello !
    Wowww, that lovely coat to die for. I love this photo edition.
    xoxo

    marisasclosetblog.com

    • thatnewd April 22, 2018 / 5:26 pm

      Thank you Marisa xx

    • thatnewd April 22, 2018 / 5:27 pm

      Thank you so much hun, I can’t stop wearing it! xx

  2. Lyndi April 10, 2018 / 4:43 pm

    I’m on the hunt for a new leather jacket – this one is gorgeous!
    Great review – a leather jacket is an excellent investment

    Lyndi
    http://www.stylecalling.com

    • thatnewd April 22, 2018 / 5:27 pm

      Every wardrobe needs a leather jacket! I highly recommend Acne Studios hun xx

    • thatnewd April 22, 2018 / 5:29 pm

      Thank you so much for the lovely comments! So glad you like the photos hun xx

  3. Vika April 10, 2018 / 8:14 pm

    Very interesting! Thanks a lot for sharing!

    • thatnewd April 20, 2018 / 2:06 pm

      Thank you so much hun xx

  4. Jessica April 11, 2018 / 12:45 pm

    That’s a cute and cozy jacket you got there dear. Looks perfect with grey underneath. Love that your bag matches with your grey turtle neck too. Chic and edgy combo!

    Jessica | notjessfashion.com

    • thatnewd April 20, 2018 / 2:06 pm

      Thank you so much Jessica, you always say such lovely things xx

  5. Ashley April 11, 2018 / 2:38 pm

    I am in LOVE with the color of this jacket- what a great piece! Looking gorgeous, gf!

    -Ashley
    Le Stylo Rouge

    • thatnewd April 22, 2018 / 6:13 pm

      Thank you, I’m kinda in love with it! Hehe xx

    • thatnewd April 22, 2018 / 6:14 pm

      Thank you!! xx

    • thatnewd April 22, 2018 / 6:14 pm

      You’re so lovely, thank you so much! xx

    • thatnewd April 22, 2018 / 6:14 pm

      Thank you, bring on Spring!! xx

    • thatnewd April 20, 2018 / 2:06 pm

      Thank you so much lovely xx

  6. Lorna April 12, 2018 / 2:38 pm

    It looks fantastic! I’ve often admired ACNE leather jackets too, they have some great styles! I think the Allsaints Balfern is very similar in style, but this one is cool! Great review!

    Raindrops of Sapphire

    • thatnewd April 20, 2018 / 2:05 pm

      Thanks so much doll! Totally agree All Saints is the best for high street leather jacket, they’re amazing quality xx

  7. Vika April 12, 2018 / 8:01 pm

    A usual very interesting) Have a nice weekend)

    • thatnewd April 20, 2018 / 2:05 pm

      Thank you Vika xx

    • thatnewd April 22, 2018 / 6:15 pm

      Thanks so much sweetie xx

  8. Mercy April 13, 2018 / 7:52 am

    This is definitely a steal, I like Acne Studios leather jacket just like IRO though I admit I don’t have one yet. This nude one is perfect for day trips, love it on you. Have a fun weekend dear!

    http://www.busyandfab.com

    • thatnewd April 20, 2018 / 2:05 pm

      I can’t believe how much use I’ve got out this jacket, I’m in love with it so much! You’re right, it was such a steal xx

    • thatnewd April 22, 2018 / 6:15 pm

      Awww, so lovely of you, thank you xx

    • thatnewd April 22, 2018 / 6:16 pm

      Awww thank you lovely xx

    • thatnewd April 22, 2018 / 6:16 pm

      Thank you, so glad you love the look xx

  9. Kinga K. April 13, 2018 / 11:15 pm

    Great jacket,you look awesome <3

    • thatnewd April 20, 2018 / 2:04 pm

      Thank you sweetie xx

  10. Sophia Ton April 13, 2018 / 11:27 pm

    The jacket looks absolutely amazing on you. I think the color fits so good for you. 🙂 Lovely outfit <3

    sophiaston.de
    youtube.com/sekundenbruchteilee

    • thatnewd April 22, 2018 / 6:16 pm

      Thank you, it’s my favourite jacket at the moment and so versatile! xx

  11. Gil Zetbase April 14, 2018 / 4:18 pm

    So cute look!
    Have a nice week-end!
    Gil Zetbase

    • thatnewd April 20, 2018 / 2:08 pm

      Thank you so much xx

    • thatnewd April 22, 2018 / 6:17 pm

      Yesss, couldn’t agree more!! xx

  12. Radi April 15, 2018 / 7:14 am

    I love leather jackets. This light one is so perfect for the spring. I love the cool vibes a jacket like this adds to your look.

    http://www.fashionradi.com

    • thatnewd April 22, 2018 / 6:18 pm

      So perfect for Spring, especially as this Spring hasn’t been all that warm so far!!

    • thatnewd April 22, 2018 / 6:18 pm

      Thank you xx

    • thatnewd April 22, 2018 / 6:19 pm

      🙂 🙂 🙂

  13. Vika April 15, 2018 / 6:28 pm

    As usual very interesting) Thsnks a lot for sharing)

    • thatnewd April 20, 2018 / 2:09 pm

      Thanks doll xx

    • thatnewd April 20, 2018 / 2:09 pm

      I gave you a follow back hun xx

  14. toyas tales April 16, 2018 / 4:46 pm

    OMG! Acne Studios always make the coolest leather jackets. Loving your pale pink one. Thanks for sharing this. Have a lovely day!

    • thatnewd April 22, 2018 / 6:19 pm

      They sure do, cannot beat Acne Studios for leather jackets xx

    • thatnewd April 22, 2018 / 6:19 pm

      Thank you so much hun xx

  15. Didier April 16, 2018 / 7:52 pm

    omg I remember when I was saving up for an ACNE leather jacket as well! I wanted one so bad and it was such a great investment. Mine is all black with a shearling collar and I seriously wear it all the time!

    -Didier
    http://www.didieryhc.com

    • thatnewd April 22, 2018 / 6:20 pm

      Haha you and I are basically the same! Your jacket sounds like a stunner xx

  16. Elegant Duchess April 17, 2018 / 12:52 pm

    I love Bicester village! so many amazing outlets. I actually try not to go there as you can end up spending way too much money haha. your jacket looks amazing on you, definitely a great purchase.

    http://www.elegantduchess.com/

    • thatnewd April 20, 2018 / 2:08 pm

      You and me both! Whenever I go I am WAY TOO spendy, haha! But you just need to think about all that money you’re saving by shopping there xx

  17. Vika April 17, 2018 / 7:49 pm

    Thanks for the interesting post! Have a nice day)

    • thatnewd April 20, 2018 / 2:07 pm

      Thanks hunny xx

  18. Kasie April 17, 2018 / 10:36 pm

    What an incredible find! You always manage to wait out the best deals, I’m impressed! That jacket is such a classic and looks like it was literally made for you.

    • thatnewd April 22, 2018 / 6:22 pm

      Haha I’m like a sniffer dog when it comes to buying something on sale or for a bargain! xx

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *